Manhaset’s Brian Morris Welcomed Back To NSWCA


Long Island water commissioners who have been newly elected or re-elected by Long Island voters, including Re-Elected Manhasset-Lakeville Water District Commissioner Brian Morris, are either being welcomed for the first time or welcomed back to the Nassau Suffolk Water Commissioners’ Association (NSWCA), an organization comprised of water commissioners from 21 Nassau County and Suffolk County water districts that is dedicated to communication, efficiency and best practices for the betterment of our region’s water and its consumers.  Each newly elected or re-elected commissioner will serve a three-year term beginning January 1, 2019 through December 31, 2021.

There are three water district commissioner positions in each district. District residents vote for one of the three commissioner positions each year. Due to the passing or resignation of commissioners in 2018, the Locust Valley Water District and the Westbury Water District had elections for more than one commissioner seat.

NSWCA First Vice President and Oyster Bay Water District Commissioner Michael F. Rich III commented on the election results. “With the election process being hyper-local and so close to the community, the vote of each individual truly counts,” he said. “I am extremely pleased to welcome both our new colleagues and returning colleagues to NSWCA. Commissioner-run water districts enable all registered residents to express their personal preferences for the men and women of their choice at the ballot box through the voting process. It also helps ensure that present day economic goals as well as longer term goals such as conservation, sustainability and aquifer health are truly reflective of the mindset of all 21 communities.”


The NSWCA congratulates the following Long Island water district new elected and re-elected commissioners on their three-year term election:


  • Howard Abbondondelo, Albertson Water District, Re-elect
  • John F. Coumatos, Bethpage Water District, Re-elect
  • Italo J. Vacchio, Carle Place Water District, New elect
  • Glenn Barnett, Cathedral Gardens Water District, Re-elect
  • Madeline Presta, Franklin Square Water District, Re-elect
  • Chris Engel, Garden City Park Water District, Re-elect
  • James M. Logan, Greenlawn Water District, Re-elect
  • Karl M. Schweitzer, Hicksville Water District, Re-elect
  • Thomas A. Abbate, Jericho Water District, Re-elect
  • Peter Brown Locust Valley Water District, New elect
  • Patricia Peterson, Locust Valley Water District, New elect
  • Louis P. Savinetti Locust Valley Water District, Re-elect
  • Brian Morris, Manhasset-Lakeville Water District, Re-elect
  • Richard Niznik, Oyster Bay Water District, Re-elect
  • Andrew Bader, Plainview Water District, Re-elect
  • David Brackett, Port Washington Water District, Re-elect
  • Michael Kosinski, Roslyn Water District, Re-elect
  • John Hirt, South Farmingdale Water District, Re-elect
  • Joseph Perry, South Huntington Water District, New elect
  • Joseph Marando, West Hempstead Water District, Re-elect
  • Rodney Caines, Westbury Water District, New elect
  • Barry Green, Westbury Water District, New elect
  • Bernard McCabe, Glenwood Water District, Re-elect
  • Francis J. Flood. Massapequa Water District, New elect

The NSWCA is comprised of Water Commissioners¹ from 21 Nassau County and Suffolk County water districts.  NSWCA is dedicated to communication, efficiency and best practices among Long Island¹s water districts.  As part of its mission, the Association holds monthly educational meetings sponsoring experts on topics that include law, cost efficiencies, rules and regulations and issues germane to water utilities.

Previous articleWebster Avenue Bridge Detour Signage Confuses Drivers
Next articleJosephine Foundation Contracted At The Schools Of St. Mary
Elizabeth Johnson is former editor of Manhasset Press and Manhasset Press Magazine. Growing up in nearby Garden City and attending New York University, she is well-versed in the locale and knowledgeable about the beat she covers. Her community involvement is extensive and includes the Manhasset SCA, Kiwanis International, Manhasset Chamber of Commerce, St. Mary’s Church, and various civic and local charitable organizations. Curious by nature, her travels, community service, love of the arts as well as local sports give her the inside view to unique content. During her time at Anton, she has received several awards from the New York Press Association and the Press Club of LI, including the coveted "Best Community Newspaper" several years in a row.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here