Champs Times Three


The St. Mary’s CYO Volleyball season runs March through May and had 11 out of 20 teams qualify for playoffs this season. This success can be attributed to the dedication of the coaches as well as the middle school and high school volleyball players that volunteered their time. This year three teams made it to the final round and three teams were crowned champions in a best-of-three match.

The sixth-grade B division team, coached by Glenn Buchholtz and Gordon Farkouh, won two consecutive sets after dropping the first in a come-from-behind victory against St. Agnes.

The eighth-grade A division team, coached by Jen Kelly and Chris Whitaker, pulled out the win in a nail-biter third set against St. William’s.

The Tyro A division team, coached by Emily Mildt and Kate Tracy, worked hard to come-from-behind and win the match in two sets against Cur of Ars.

It was a wonderful season for all the teams.

Previous articleElite Fitness To Your Front Door
Next articleSpecial Events At Sands Point Conservancy
Since 1932, the award-winning Manhasset Press has served the communities of Manhasset, Munsey Park, Plandome, Plandome Heights, Plandome Manor and Flower Hill as a trusted source for local news and community events.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here