The Democrat Name Candidates For Election


The Nassau County Democratic Convention occurred the evening of Feb. 13 at the Cradle of Aviation Museum. Nassau County Democratic Chairman Jay Jacobs announced the Democratic candidates who will run for office on the county, town and city level and look to dominate Nassau County.

Town of North Hempstead Judi Bosworth and Nassau County Executive Laura Curran

Key races are in the legislature, where Republicans hold the majority. There were several districts, specifically districts four, six, 15 and 19, where no Democratic candidate was designated. Nassau County Executive Laura Curran spoke to the assembly of the hope of a Democratic majority in the Nassau County Legislature and to promote Kevan Abrahams of District One to become Majority leader.
Nassau County District Attorney Madeline Singas was endorsed for reelection to a second term. The following candidates were announced for the legislative districts: Kevan Abrahams (1), Siela Bynoe (2), Carrie Solages (3), Debra Mule (5), Debra Siegel (7), Barbara Hafner (8), Mal Nathan (9), Ellen Birnbaum, (10), Delia DeRiggi-Whitton (11), Michael Pesce (12), Jennifer Rosenkrantz (13), Michael Maloney (14), Arnold Drucker (16), Alan Foley (17) and Joshua Lafazan (18).
Two Republican candidates were named in two local races outside of the Town of North Hempstead: James Altadonna, Jr. who will run for Oyster Bay Town Supervisor against Joseph Saladino, and former Floral Park Mayor Tom Tweedy, who will run to replace indicted Councilman Ed Ambrosino.
For the Town of North Hempstead
The Town of North Hempstead board has several seats up for reelection this year including town supervisor, receiver of taxes and council districts two, four and six. Chairman of the North Hempstead Democratic Committee John Ryan announced the candidates, which include incumbent Judi Bosworth for supervisor, Charles Berman for receiver of taxes, Peter Zuckerman for District Council Two representing Roslyn and East Hills, Veronica Lurvey representing District Four Great Neck and Manhasset, and the newly announced candidacy of Mariann Dalimonte to run against incumbent Dina De Giorgio for District Six. The council terms are for four years.
“I have been truly honored and humbled to serve the people of North Hempstead for these past three terms,” says Bosworth. “With the support of the voters, I hope to continue the work of moving the town forward and creating a welcome place to live, work, play and raise a family. I am so proud of North Hempstead’s 2019 slate of candidates. I know that each and every one of them will make North Hempstead’s residents their priority.”
Lurvey, a former corporate attorney and resident of Great Neck, was appointed to represent the Fourth Council District, formerly held by Anna Kaplan, in January 2019. As cofounder of North Shore Action, she guided the community action group’s guiding vision and led teams in a variety of proactive, bipartisan community events. Key platform issues included health and environmental matters, pedestrian safety, voter registration and mental health.
From Bosworth’s first day in office, her administration’s hallmark has been to establish an open, inclusive and transparent government, stringent ethics reforms and financial disclosure policies, and a spirit of collaboration and bi-partnership.



Previous articleBurglary Suspect Arrested
Next articleManhasset Boys Basketball Head To Finals
Elizabeth Johnson is former editor of Manhasset Press and Manhasset Press Magazine. Growing up in nearby Garden City and attending New York University, she is well-versed in the locale and knowledgeable about the beat she covers. Her community involvement is extensive and includes the Manhasset SCA, Kiwanis International, Manhasset Chamber of Commerce, St. Mary’s Church, and various civic and local charitable organizations. Curious by nature, her travels, community service, love of the arts as well as local sports give her the inside view to unique content. During her time at Anton, she has received several awards from the New York Press Association and the Press Club of LI, including the coveted "Best Community Newspaper" several years in a row.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here